I <3 Brownies

17 Feb

Ah, Valentine’s Day, that over-commercialized, dreaded-by-many, possibly-sappy, day of love and cupid and hearts…lots and lots of hearts. But I’ve never been one to complain, especially if there’s chocolate involved : ) Last year, I made truffles (quite successfully, though I spent entirely too much time trying to perfect and prettify them). This year, I was short on time yet still wanted to make something cute and valentine-sy, so on a whim, I grabbed what I had in the cupboard – brownie mix and sprinkles. There was also a block of cream cheese in the fridge (I usually keep some on hand) – perfect for cream cheese frosting.

In less than an hour, the apartment was filled with delicious smells, and as I waited for the brownies to cool, I whipped up a batch of frosting. Taking a cookie cutter to the brownies, I formed heart shapes, then frosted each and shook some mini heart sprinkles on top. Lastly, I placed the finished brownies into some plastic bento box containers so they could be displayed like showpieces.

The result was better than I had imagined. The final thing left to do was grab a piece of extra brownie, spread some frosting on it, and *om nom nom nom* cookie monster style : P

5 Responses to “I <3 Brownies”

  1. sara February 17, 2010 at 11:22 pm #

    cute!!!!

  2. laurie March 18, 2010 at 4:09 pm #

    i found you 🙂 i love your pics! not only do i have to look at delicious food photos for work, now i can look at your blog and get hungry all over again! your vday idea is so cute.

  3. karlyn March 20, 2010 at 8:48 am #

    thanks laurie : ) you should start a food blog! or do you already have one that i don’t know about : p your first post can be those pretty cupcakes you made for v-day ; )

  4. laurie March 22, 2010 at 10:05 pm #

    i am totally starting a food blog!!! i’m just thinking of a name….any ideas? something about laulau…?

  5. karlyn March 24, 2010 at 5:32 am #

    yayyy, excited! hmm not sure about names though; haha, something with laulau would be cute and clever : P let me know when you start your blog : )

Leave a Reply

