Grindz (part II)

2 Feb

Ohhh yum. I just made a batch of chicken curry udon for the first time and was reminded again of my enduring love for Japanese curry. Sadly, I don’t have any pictures to show for this delicious meal, but my stomach can testify that it was indeed nom nom nom : )

To make up for the absence of curry photos, I’m posting some drool-worthy images that I’ve been meaning to upload for awhile; these were from my trip home during Christmas.

The first few are from my family’s new year’s day lunch. Hamachi (yellowtail) and Maguro (tuna) sashimi:

Onaga (red snapper):

Garlic shrimp:

Okay this one is a tribute to fans of natto, the stinky, sticky fermented beans that you either love or hate (I side with the latter). My friends love this stuff, and this is just one iteration of these beans in curry:

Spam and egg sushi (now this I find appetizing, mmm mmm):

And last but not least, my favorite shave ice from Ice Garden (#16 with oatmeal – tapioca + mochi balls + chocolate syrup)! Sounds gross but it’s soooo good; you just need to try it:

5 Responses to “Grindz (part II)”

  1. Denise February 2, 2010 at 9:23 pm #

    Did you use the packet of curry udon sauce you brought the other day? SU-SHIIIII!!! kekekek I just had some for dinner yesterday kekekekke

  2. sara February 2, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

    drooooooooool especially with the sashimi!!! post more more more! =D

  3. karlyn February 3, 2010 at 8:31 am #

    yeah, gotta get more of that stuff at uwajimaya; it’s really good! hope you ate a lot of sushi for me : )

  4. laurie March 18, 2010 at 4:29 pm #

    WHERE/WHEN DID YOU MAKE ALL THAT SUSHI?!?! and more importantly…why wasn’t i invited?!?! hahaha!

  5. karlyn March 20, 2010 at 8:46 am #

    you should have been in ハワイ for xmas/new year’s, then i would have invited you 🙂

Leave a Reply

